The Grey Beanie

When I was around 8 years old, my mother bought me my first knitting kit from The Entertainer (Toy shop). I was really facinated with the whole concept as my mum used to knit herself. I was never able to finish a scarf. I got annoyed with how long it was taking and I kept missing a stitch which created a hole.

I remember once I was waiting for my mum to finish her appointment so I was sat in the waiting room with my knitting kit. The receptionist came over as she was suprised to see a young child to be knitting, she was then telling me how she started knitting a very long time ago as that was one of the ways to have clothes back in the day. Since then, my new year’s resolution every year has always been to keep up with knitting.

This is my first finished product that I knitted. A basic grey beanie. The reason why I did this beanie was because I received a knitted beanie for Christmas from my friend. I was so amazed that she knitted it herself. It really inspired me to actually try this out. She told me that it was really easy and can just follow some tutorials online. I made this beanie within a day and I was so pleased with the results. I started looking into different patterns that I could learn and what other items to knit.

 

Model: Rogers Nyamutale

Leave a comment